Nigeria has borders with Niger to the north, Chad (across Lake Chad) to the northeast, Cameroon to the East and Benin to the West. To the south, the Gulf of Guinea is indented by the Bight of Benin and the Bight of Biafra.

The official seat of government is Abuja, Federal Capital Territory (FCT), while Lagos is the hub of commercial activities in Nigeria. 



Lagos is a cosmopolitan city made up of a collection of islands connected together by long bridges. One of its most important borders is the Atlantic ocean. There is more about Lagos in some of the links below. Although this can serves as a travel / country guide to Nigeria, the focus of most of the links are on travel information and opportunity in Lagos, Nigeria's business capital. The official language is English. A variation of English (Pidgin English) is also spoken. The three main Nigerian languages are Yoruba, Ibo (also spelt Igbo) and Hausa; another 400 languages are also spoken in the country.

The climate varies; equatorial in the south, tropical in the center, arid in the north. Natural hazards include periodic droughts and flooding.