The Seychelles are an archipelago in the Indian Ocean, northeast of Madagascar. The Seychelles Archipelago occupies 400,000 sq km (150,000 sq miles) of the Indian Ocean northeast of Madagascar and contains 115 islands and islets.

The largest island in either group is Mahé, lying 4°S of the equator. It is 27km (17 miles) long by 8km (5 miles) wide and contains Victoria, the capital and main port, and 90% of the population. Mahé is typical of the Granitic Islands, being mountainous and covered with jungle vegetation.


The Seychellois are descended from a mixture of French and British landowners, freed African slaves and a small number of Chinese and Indian immigrants, creating a unique culture.The climate is tropical marine and often humid. The Seychelles do have a cooler season during southeast monsoon (late May to September) and a warmer season during northwest monsoon (March to May). The Seychelles do not lie in the cyclone belt.

Creole, English and French are all spoken in the Seychelles.